Impossible till now, you can delete Instagram account within the app on iPhone

    To comply with the latest guidelines of Apple App Store, Instagram is bringing the option to delete your Instagram account within the app on iPhones.
    By: HT TECH
    | Updated on: Jul 02 2022, 14:09 IST
    Instagram account deletion or deactivation on iPhone will be easier with this new feature on the app.
    Instagram account deletion or deactivation on iPhone will be easier with this new feature on the app. (Unsplash)
    Instagram account deletion or deactivation on iPhone will be easier with this new feature on the app.
    Instagram account deletion or deactivation on iPhone will be easier with this new feature on the app. (Unsplash)

    In case you want to take a rest from your social media life or want to start a whole new Instagram account, now you will finally be able to delete your Instagram account on iPhone directly from the mobile app. No, that was not possible earlier! In order to delete or deactivate your Instagram account, you were required to go to the Delete your account Page from a mobile browser or computer. This used to be a long and tiring process, in case you weren't logged into Instagram on the web. But now, Instagram has made it easier for users to delete the account within the app, a TechCrunch report confirmed.

    This comes after Apple's new App Store Review Guidelines informed that, "Starting June 30, 2022, apps submitted to the App Store that support account creation must also let users initiate deletion of their account within the app." Apple suggests that account deletion is a significant decision for any user. Hence, the process for initiating and confirming deletion should be straightforward and transparent.

    “We want to give people more ways to control their experience and time spent on Instagram. We've rolled out the option to delete your account in Settings on iOS, and you'll still have the option to temporarily disable your account before choosing to delete it,” the TechCrunch report quoted a Meta spokesperson as saying.

    How does Instagram account deletion or deactivation work?

    The app itself didn't share any information about the deletion option, but the report suggests that users will be able to deactivate their accounts. Even after proceeding with account deletion on the app, it will still give a cooling-off period of 30 days to reconsider your decision to delete or deactivate your account. All you will need to do is to relaunch the app within the given time.

    Instagram users should know that according to Instagram's policy, temporary deactivation of the account will keep your account, your profile, photos, comments and likes hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in. While, deleting your account simply implies that you won't be able to get back your data ever, unless you have downloaded a copy of your information via Instagram's Data Download tool.

    Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

    First Published Date: 02 Jul, 14:09 IST
    NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
    keep up with tech