Windows 10 bug! Microsoft warns users about ‘deleted' files
Microsoft has warned users of a Windows 10 bug that can affect the option to erase files in their PCs.
Microsoft has issued a warning to millions of Windows 10 users about a bug that can affect the option to remove and erase files. Users have been asked to be careful while cleaning up their PCs as that is the time when they are the most vulnerable and should check whether these files have actually been deleted or not. The US based tech giant says that the newly discovered bug controls the remove and erase files system. They have shared that when users try to reset their devices and use the “Remove everything” option, many files still remain on the PC. This might happen if the files are synced with cloud services like OneDrive or OneDrive for Business. However, the user does not know that the files have not been removed.
Microsoft said, “When attempting to reset a Windows device with apps which have folders with reparse data, such as OneDrive or OneDrive for Business, files which have been downloaded or synced locally from OneDrive might not be deleted when selecting the “Remove everything” option.” The firm is working on fixing this bug. The firm also stated that an upcoming release will solve the Windows 10 bug and more information will be provided once it is available.
Meanwhile, Microsoft has offered a workaround to secure your PC and carry out the functions securely.
Simple and easy tips to stop the Windows 10 bug on your PC
1. Users can prevent this bug by signing out or unlinking OneDrive before resetting their Windows device. Go to the settings followed by the “Unlink OneDrive” section and Turn off, disable, or uninstall OneDrive.
2This issue can also be mitigated on devices that have already been reset by deleting the Windows.old folder by using Storage sense in the Settings app.
Along with this Windows reset bug, security experts have also warned of a number of dangerous applications available via the Official Microsoft Store. Once installed, these malicious apps will infect the system as they may be carrying the Electron Bot malware. This malware is capable of controlling social media accounts and setting up ad clickers without letting the owner know. This Electron Bot malware can be infected through unofficial versions of popular titles, such as Temple Run and Subway Surfer.
Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.