Home / Photos / How to find out if a contact has blocked you on WhatsApp

How to find out if a contact has blocked you on WhatsApp

The power of a WhatsApp feature that allows you to block contacts is awesome. But what happens when you are blocked on WhatsApp by a contact. Surely, the first thing you want to know is, who did it?

WhatsApp has several privacy features and one of the most useful ones is the one that allows you to wield the ultimate power - blocking someone who has annoyed you. However, the boot can be on the other foot too and you may well suffer the ignominy of being blocked on WhatsApp. So, if you want to know who had the temerity to block you, then just read on. The WhatsApp blocked feature is available on Android, iOS and WhatsApp Web apps. There are others too, but they are boring in front of the blocked feature. These include old features like the ability to hide one’s Last Seen indicator, Read Receipts, to newly announced features like sharing disappearing messages.
1/7 WhatsApp has several privacy features and one of the most useful ones is the one that allows you to wield the ultimate power - blocking someone who has annoyed you. However, the boot can be on the other foot too and you may well suffer the ignominy of being blocked on WhatsApp. So, if you want to know who had the temerity to block you, then just read on. The WhatsApp blocked feature is available on Android, iOS and WhatsApp Web apps. There are others too, but they are boring in front of the blocked feature. These include old features like the ability to hide one’s Last Seen indicator, Read Receipts, to newly announced features like sharing disappearing messages. (Pixabay)
WhatsApp blocked feature: The ability to block users on the app is intended to prevent unwanted contact from other users on the app for whatever reasons or no reason at all. However, WhatsApp does not provide an official way for users to check if they have been blocked by anyone on the app. While Facebook Messenger shows users a message such as “You can’t reply to this conversation” if a user is blocked or a message is reported as unwelcome, WhatsApp has no such indicator. “We have made this intentionally ambiguous in order to protect your privacy when you block someone. Thus, we cannot tell you if you are being blocked by someone else,” WhatsApp said.
2/7 WhatsApp blocked feature: The ability to block users on the app is intended to prevent unwanted contact from other users on the app for whatever reasons or no reason at all. However, WhatsApp does not provide an official way for users to check if they have been blocked by anyone on the app. While Facebook Messenger shows users a message such as “You can’t reply to this conversation” if a user is blocked or a message is reported as unwelcome, WhatsApp has no such indicator. “We have made this intentionally ambiguous in order to protect your privacy when you block someone. Thus, we cannot tell you if you are being blocked by someone else,” WhatsApp said. (Pixabay)
How to find out if you have been blocked: However, there are certain ways to try and understand whether you have been blocked by a WhatsApp user and that is by checking certain features available on the app as shared by the company on their support documentation. Here’s how you can find out if you were blocked on WhatsApp.
3/7 How to find out if you have been blocked: However, there are certain ways to try and understand whether you have been blocked by a WhatsApp user and that is by checking certain features available on the app as shared by the company on their support documentation. Here’s how you can find out if you were blocked on WhatsApp. (Pixabay)
Check for WhatsApp Profile Photo visibility: One of the fastest ways to find out if you have been blocked by another WhatsApp user is to check whether you can see their profile photo on the chat window. If you have been blocked, you will not be able to see the user’s profile photo. However, it is worth noting that if the other person has not added you as a contact, you will still not see their profile photo if the privacy is set to Contacts Only. Similarly, many users do not have a profile photo in the first place.
4/7 Check for WhatsApp Profile Photo visibility: One of the fastest ways to find out if you have been blocked by another WhatsApp user is to check whether you can see their profile photo on the chat window. If you have been blocked, you will not be able to see the user’s profile photo. However, it is worth noting that if the other person has not added you as a contact, you will still not see their profile photo if the privacy is set to Contacts Only. Similarly, many users do not have a profile photo in the first place. (Pixabay)
Check for delivered WhatsApp messages: One of the most reliable ways to check if a user has blocked you on WhatsApp is to try and send a message on the app. If the message is delivered to the user's device, you will see two tick marks next to the message, indicating that the person has not blocked you. However, this method is not foolproof, as a user could simply not have internet connectivity when you send the message, or they might have temporarily uninstalled the app.
5/7 Check for delivered WhatsApp messages: One of the most reliable ways to check if a user has blocked you on WhatsApp is to try and send a message on the app. If the message is delivered to the user's device, you will see two tick marks next to the message, indicating that the person has not blocked you. However, this method is not foolproof, as a user could simply not have internet connectivity when you send the message, or they might have temporarily uninstalled the app. (Pixabay)
Check for online status on WhatsApp: While WhatsApp allows users to hide their Last Seen indicator on WhatsApp, the Facebook-owned company still allows users to spy on each other by keeping an eye on their “online” status. This means that whenever you are online, anyone on WhatsApp can see that you are currently using the app. However, it appears that once you are blocked, you will not be able to see a user’s ‘online’ indicator on the app.
6/7 Check for online status on WhatsApp: While WhatsApp allows users to hide their Last Seen indicator on WhatsApp, the Facebook-owned company still allows users to spy on each other by keeping an eye on their “online” status. This means that whenever you are online, anyone on WhatsApp can see that you are currently using the app. However, it appears that once you are blocked, you will not be able to see a user’s ‘online’ indicator on the app. (Pixabay)
Check for WhatsApp calls not going through: According to WhatsApp’s support documentation, the last indicator that you might be blocked is your calls to a user are not going through. This means that if your contact has blocked you, calling them will still show you the calling screen, but the call will not connect. However, it is important to note that this can occur even when your contact does not have internet connectivity.
7/7 Check for WhatsApp calls not going through: According to WhatsApp’s support documentation, the last indicator that you might be blocked is your calls to a user are not going through. This means that if your contact has blocked you, calling them will still show you the calling screen, but the call will not connect. However, it is important to note that this can occur even when your contact does not have internet connectivity. (Pixabay)