How to disable ‘People You May Know’ friend suggestions on Facebook

    Not all users might want those constant reminders from Facebook about adding more friends to their lists, especially if they already have a small friend circle and intend to keep it that way.
    By HT TECH
    | Updated on Mar 28 2021, 09:29 PM IST
    You can turn off those Facebook friend suggestions once and for all. 
    You can turn off those Facebook friend suggestions once and for all.  (AP)
    You can turn off those Facebook friend suggestions once and for all. 
    You can turn off those Facebook friend suggestions once and for all.  (AP)

    Facebook is a social networking service that is centered around content shared by you and your friends, along with pages and people you choose to follow. While the service regularly recommends pages you should follow and check out, the company also occasionally sends out notifications to suggest people you may know as friends.

    Also read: Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

    The company brands these suggestions under the ‘People You May Know’ section, which lists users who could be suggested as part of your contact list that you uploaded to Facebook, or via the company’s algorithms that can predict who you might know based on your profile information and who you are already friends with.

    Read more: Facebook freezes Venezuela president Maduro's page over COVID-19 misinformation

    However, not all users might want those constant reminders from Facebook about adding more friends to their lists, especially if they already have a small friend circle and intend to keep it that way. If you want to turn off the notifications for People You May Know, you can do so by following these steps:

    Step 1: Head over to Facebook on the desktop and go to the Settings and Privacy menu from the icon on the top right corner of the screen.

    Head to the Settings menu.
    Head to the Settings menu. (HT Tech)
    Head to the Settings menu.
    Head to the Settings menu. (HT Tech)

    Step 2: Now select Settings, from this menu. It will open up a new settings page.

    Step 3: Click the Notifications icon on the menu on the left sidebar on the Facebook Settings page.

    Click the Notifications menu.
    Click the Notifications menu. (HT Tech)
    Click the Notifications menu.
    Click the Notifications menu. (HT Tech)

    Step 4: Now look for a setting called People you may know under the Notifications Settings area.

    Toggle the main switch to turn it off or disable individual options as necessary.
    Toggle the main switch to turn it off or disable individual options as necessary. (HT Tech)
    Toggle the main switch to turn it off or disable individual options as necessary.
    Toggle the main switch to turn it off or disable individual options as necessary. (HT Tech)

    Step 5: From there, you can toggle all of the options off, or simply disable notifications via SMS, via Email, or via push notifications in the app. These settings will either partially or completely disable the notifications for Facebook’s People you may know feature.

    Also read: Facebook’s tech regulation idea isn’t as transparent as it looks

    If you don’t have access to a browser, you can make the exact same changes via Facebook’s iOS and Android apps, the settings are in the same sections, at the time of publishing this guide. However, if you have already made the changes on the desktop, then you do not need to make the same changes on your phone as they will be saved to your profile no matter where you are logged in from.

    Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

    First Published Date: 28 Mar, 09:29 PM IST
    NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
    keep up with tech