Attention Fortnite players: Apple is disabling 'Sign in with Apple' option on Sept 11
Epic Games has asked all players to keep their emails and password updated so as they don’t lose access to their accounts.
Apple is no longer going to let players sign into their Epic Games accounts with ‘Sign in with Apple' option. Come September 11, Apple is going to disable that option for all players. With Apple terminating Epic Games' developer account, the company is following suit and disabling access to other services like the ‘Sign in with Apple' option, reports MacRumours.
The announcement was made by Epic via its official Twitter handle on September 9 giving players a two-day heads-up on the whole issue.
Apple will no longer allow users to sign into Epic Games accounts using “Sign In with Apple” as soon as September 11, 2020. If you used “Sign In with Apple”, please make sure your email and password are up to date. https://t.co/4XZX5g0eaf— Epic Games Store (@EpicGames) September 9, 2020
Epic advised users, the ones who were using the ‘Sign in with Apple' option, to make sure their email and password are up to date so as they do not lose access to their accounts post September 11.
Epic also shared a link directing people to information about how email ID and password details can be updated.
“If you have previously used ‘Sign In with Apple', please update your Epic Games account email address and password immediately so that you can still login after September 11, 2020,” wrote Epic on the FAQ page.
Players need to basically update their email details to ensure it has the information linked to their current email IDs. If the details are updated on time, then players should be able to access their accounts easily.
However, if any player is unable to update their email addresses before September 11 and can lo longer see the “Sign in with Apple” login option, Epic may still be able to help them recover their accounts manually.
For this, players will have to contact Epic Games for help.
The ‘Sign in with Apple' feature allows players using Apple devices sign into other accounts and services using their unique Apple ID. All other information is hidden from the website or service you are signing in to as privacy protection. This is identical to what Facebook and Google also offers but Apple has some additional privacy perks with features like the ‘Hide my email'.
The ‘Sign in with Apple' feature was introduced with iOS 13 and all apps offering the sign in with Google and Facebook options had to offer this feature for users.
Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.