As Overwatch 1 shuts down, know Overwatch 2 release time, battle pass details and more

    Overwatch 1 shut down on October 3 to make way for the much anticipated Overwatch 2 release. Know when the new game will be available to play, battle pass details and more.
    By: HT TECH
    | Updated on: Oct 04 2022, 18:01 IST
    Subway Surfers to Garena Free Fire, check out the top 5 most downloaded mobile games
    image caption
    1/5 Subway Surfers – Subway Surfers was the most downloaded game in May with nearly 30 million downloads, according to Sensor Tower data. Although the game recently celebrated its 10-year anniversary, the download figures show that it is still going strong, making it the most downloaded game of the month. (Kiloo Games)
    Garena Free Fire
    2/5 Garena Free Fire – Garena Free Fire is a hugely popular game with 26 million downloads in May. Even though it is banned in India, Garena Free Fire still has a massive player base worldwide with millions of players. (ff.garena.com)
    image caption
    3/5 Tall Man Run – Tall Man Run is an extremely popular game from Supersonic Studios. It is a casual runner game where the objective is to get your character as tall and wide as it can be to beat the level. (Google Play Store)
    EA’s Apex Legends
    4/5 Apex Legends – Apex Legends was the fourth-most downloaded game in May 2022. The game is an online multiplayer, not to dissimilar from the likes of PUBG, Garena Free Fire, Fortnite and Battlegrounds India Mobile. It seems like EA has hit a home run with their game. (EA)
    image caption
    5/5 Deliver It 3D – Deliver It 3D is a unique game from Voodoo where your mission is to pick up and drop off packages to customers to earn money and level up. You can explore the world and discover new zones. Deliver It 3D rounds up our top 5 games of 2022 list. (App Store)
    Overwatch 2 release time
    View all Images
    As Overwatch 1 servers close down, know all about Overwatch 2 including release time, battle pass details and more. (Overwatch Twitter)

    Yesterday, October 3, Overwatch servers were shut down, drawing the final curtain on the popular team hero shooter game. The fans of the game bid it farewell online, writing their favorite memories and discussing their favorite characters. But even as the loyal fanbase were saddened at the departure of Overwatch 1, they are equally excited about Overwatch 2. The upcoming game will remove the tank slot from the six-person team which is aimed at making the gameplay faster. So, if you're also waiting for it, find out the Overwatch 2 release time. Also know the new battle pass system and all the details around it.

    Overwatch 2 release time

    As per the original plan, Overwatch 2 is supposed to release 24 hours after servers shut down for its predecessor. Accordingly, the game will be available between October 4 and October 5 globally. On October 4, the UK will receive the game at 8 PM BST, Europe will receive it at 9 PM CET, East Coast US will get it at 3 PM EDT and West Coast US will get it at 12 PM PDT. On October 5, Australia will play the game starting 6 AM AEDT, South Korea will receive it at 4 AM KST and India will get it at 12:30 AM.

    The download size for the game on console is around 30GB and 50GB on PC.

    Overwatch 2 Battle Pass

    With Overwatch 2 comes the new battle pass and you need to know how it works. Replacing the loot boxes, battle pass will become the new reward system. Players will also get to see an in-game store where players can directly buy things using a new currency called Overwatch coins.

    There will be two tiers to Overwatch 2 battle pass — free and paid. There will be a total of 80 milestone points in a battle pass. Players will be able to unlock all the new heroes at different levels on battle pass. The unlocking of heros starts at level 55 onwards. Both free and paid users will be able to unlock the players.

    There is a new hero in season one which is a support character named Kiriko. But if you're not a new player, you will get all the newly released characters including Kiriko, Sojourn and Junker Queen at launch for free.

    Apart from this, free battle pass users will also get two legendary skins, two weapon charms, two souvenirs, one highlight intro and other stuff like emotes. Premium users will get five legendary skins, one mythic skin, two epic skins, 11 voice lines and more.

    Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

    First Published Date: 04 Oct, 17:35 IST
    NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
    keep up with tech