WhatsApp’s block revoke request to prevent users from misusing ‘delete for everyone’ feature | HT Tech

WhatsApp’s block revoke request to prevent users from misusing ‘delete for everyone’ feature

Loopholes in WhatsApp’s ‘delete for everyone’ feature allowed users to delete messages dating back to 3 years.

By: INDO ASIAN NEWS SERVICE
| Updated on: Mar 13 2018, 18:15 IST
Now, you cannot bypass WhatsApp’s ‘delete for everyone’ feature.
Now, you cannot bypass WhatsApp’s ‘delete for everyone’ feature. (AFP)

WhatsApp is fixing the loopholes that allowed some users to bypass "delete for everyone" feature on its platform. The feature allows users to delete texts for everyone within 7 minutes of its being sent. WhatsApp recently extended the time limit to roughly 68 minutes.

WhatsApp's update to "delete for everyone" comes after multiple reports of users being able to misuse the feature through unauthorised versions of WhatsApp. This allowed users to permanently delete messages dating back to 3 years. WhatsApp is fixing the problem with its new "block revoke request" feature that will help prevent users from misusing the "Delete for Everyone" feature.

You may be interested in

MobilesTablets Laptops
7% OFF
Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max
  • Black Titanium
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
23% OFF
Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra 5G
  • Green
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
Google Pixel 8 Pro
  • Obsidian
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
Apple iPhone 15 Plus
  • Black
  • 6 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage

According to a report by WABetaInfo, a fan site that tests new WhatsApp features early, in order to stop such bad users, the messaging platform has implemented the new feature.

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

"When the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends to the recipient(s) a new message having the same ID of the message that the user wants to revoke," the post added.

Earlier, when a recipient received this particular message containing the revoke request, WhatsApp checked if the ID of the message was present in the database and if the original message was found, it directly deleted it without checking any other important information.

This feature had certain loopholes which was exploited by users on unauthorised WhatsApp versions. It allowed users to delete messages sent 3 years ago. With the new updated algorithm, WhatsApp will now delete only those messages which have been sent within 24 hours. Also, if the phone remains turned off for 24 hours the request will be invalid.

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 12 Mar, 18:43 IST
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS

Best Deals For You