Instagram tips and tricks: Use vanish mode to send disappearing messages- Know how

    Instagram users can now send disappearing messages, photos, videos, and more using the Vanish mode. Here are the steps you need to follow.
    By: HT TECH
    | Updated on: Nov 06 2022, 11:24 IST
    Instagram users can share stories on Close Friends list; check steps here
    Instagram
    1/5 If you are an Instagram user and are not comfortable in sharing your images, videos, among others with all via Instagram stories then you can create a Close Friends list and share your story with only the people on that list. It can also be known that with stories, you can share photos and videos that disappear from your profile, feed and messages after 24 hours, unless you add them to your profile as story highlights. (Pixabay)
    image caption
    2/5 It can be noted that people on your Close Friends list will know they are on it, but they can't see who else is on the list. Only you can see your close friends list, and no one can request to be added. (AP)
    Instagram
    3/5 If someone has added you to their list, you will see a green badge when you're viewing their stories and a green ring around their profile photo. So, here are the steps you need to follow to create your close friends list: (Pexels)
    Instagram
    4/5 Instagram: How to create Close Friends list- Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile. Then click at the top right, then tap Close Friends. Scroll down to Suggestions (Android) or Suggested (iPhone). Tap Add next to the people who you want to add to your Close Friends list. You can also tap Search to search for a friend. (Pixabay)
    instagram
    5/5 Instagram: How to share a story with your close friends list- Tap at the top or swipe right anywhere in feed, then scroll to Story at the bottom. Then click at the bottom of the screen to take a photo, or tap and hold to record a video. To choose a photo from your phone's library or gallery, swipe up anywhere on the screen. When you are ready to share, tap Close Friends in the bottom left. (REUTERS)
    Instagram
    View all Images
    Here is how you can enable vanish mode on Instagram. (Pixabay)

    Want to send messages, photos, videos, and more on Instagram chat that disappear? You can use Instagram's vanish mode for the same. Vanish mode lets people send each other disappearing messages, photos, videos and other content on Instagram chats. "Content sent in vanish mode disappears when someone leaves the chat or turns vanish mode off," Instagram said. Also, in order to use the vanish mode, you will have to update to Messenger features on the app.

    Once you enable the vanish mode, you will not be able to copy, save or forward disappearing messages. Also, here are some of the other effects of enabling vanish mode on: Accounts that you have not connected with before can't send you message requests in vanish mode. You can only use vanish mode in a chat with another Instagram account. You will not be able to use it in a group chat or in a chat with a Messenger or Facebook account.

    You are advised to use vanish mode with people you trust as it is possible for someone to take a screenshot or screen recording of a message in vanish mode before it disappears. However, you will be alerted of the same via a notification. People can also take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears.

    Want to try out vanish mode on Instagram? Here is how to enable it:

    How to turn on/off vanish mode in Instagram

    Step 1:

    Open Instagram app on your smartphone.

    Step 2:

    Tap send or messenger in the top right of feed.

    Step 3:

    Tap on a chat that you wish to send message in vanish mode.

    Step 4:

    And then at last, from your chat, swipe up to turn on vanish mode.

    Step 5:

    If you wish to turn off vanish mode, you will have to swipe up again in your chat.

    Also, every time someone sends a message in vanish mode, Instagram will notify you. You will be notified if they send you a new message outside of vanish mode.

    Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

    First Published Date: 06 Nov, 11:23 IST
    NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
    keep up with tech