Apple iOS 14.5 brings battery, performance recalibration feature for iPhone 11 series
Also mentioned is that while the battery health data is being updated, you will also see a message in Settings > Battery > Battery Health
Apple has released its iOS 14.5 developer beta 6 and one of the key features spotted in this version is the battery recalibration system that will be coming for the 2019 iPhones, which is the iPhone 11 models. The feature is said to handle the devices when the battery is being drained quicker than expected. As the name suggests, the feature will recalibrate both maximum battery capacity and peak performance capability.
The iPhone maker has also explained this feature in one of its updated support pages. “iOS 14.5, coming later this spring, includes an update where the battery health reporting system will recalibrate maximum battery capacity and peak performance capability on iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, and iPhone 11 Pro Max to address inaccurate estimates of battery health reporting for some users. Symptoms of this bug include unexpected battery drain behavior or, in a small number of instances, reduced peak performance capability. This inaccurate battery health reporting does not reflect an issue with actual battery health.”
Also mentioned is that while the battery health data is being updated, you will also see a message in Settings > Battery > Battery Health stating that “Your battery health reporting system is recalibrating Maximum Capacity and Peak Performance Capability. This process may take a few weeks. Learn more...”.
While the process is going on, it is reported that the maximum battery capacity percentage won’t be changed. Once the recalibration is complete, the message will disappear.
We already know that iOS 14.5 is bringing the ability to unlock the iPhone while you are wearing a Face Mask. For this, it will use Apple Watch. The update also includes Apple's App Tracking Transparency (ATT) feature, which lets you opt-in to a feature where you let online ads track you. Otherwise, the user won’t be tracked by default.