An iPhone feature that will keep your data safe: Know how to use | Tech News

An iPhone feature that will keep your data safe: Know how to use

Your iPhone data can be at risk if someone tries to break into it. This feature will solve your problem.

By: HT TECH
| Updated on: Dec 25 2021, 20:02 IST
iPhone's Erase Data function will wipe the data from your device in case of the maximum failed password attempts.
iPhone's Erase Data function will wipe the data from your device in case of the maximum failed password attempts. (Amritanshu Mukherjee / HT Tech)

No matter how secure your iPhone is, there are always chances to get your data leaked. If you lose your iPhone or someone has stolen it, or some hacker is trying to break into your device, in any case, your data is at risk. The easiest way for any crook to access your phone data is by using simple passwords such as 123456 or 111111 that you have chosen (hope, you haven't used such passwords).

This is scary, Isn't it? If you are worried about the security of your iPhone then this should be done as soon as possible. Scott Polderman, the TikTok tech expert shared the information about the important feature of the iPhone with his fans which can keep your data safe, if someone will try to break into your iPhone. Here's what this feature is all about.

You may be interested in

MobilesTablets Laptops
7% OFF
Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max
  • Black Titanium
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
23% OFF
Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra 5G
  • Green
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
5% OFF
Apple iPhone 15 Plus 256GB
  • Black
  • 6 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
9% OFF
Apple iPhone 15 256GB
  • Black
  • 6 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage

iPhone safety feature

You can turn on this feature, known as the Erase Data function that will allow your iPhone to wipe the data itself from your device in case of the maximum failed attempts of the passwords. Once you activate the settings for Erase Data function, your iPhone will remove all your data after the 10 failed password attempts. All of your iPhone data means ‘Everything', from your contacts, messages, photos, and more.

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

You must be wondering then that losing your iPhone means losing your data! No, don't worry! Even though your data will be removed from your device, you will still be able to access it. How? You must be forgetting about your iCloud service! As long as you are having regular data backup on iCloud, your data is safe.

This simply means, if the fraudster or hacker will try to access your iPhone, it will automatically be blocked within the 10 wrong password attempts and the data will be removed from your device, and the crook won't be able to see your messages, contacts, photo or any other personal information. On the other hand, your data will be kept safe and secured with you in your iCloud and you can restore it in your new iPhone with the same iCloud.

How to enable Erase Data function?

Step 1: You will need to go to the 'Settings' of your device.
Step 2: Search for Face ID & Passcode and enter your password.
Step 3: Scroll down to the bottom and keep your toggle bar for Erase Data to On position.

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 25 Dec, 20:02 IST
Tags:
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS