French, German share Nobel Physics prize

French scientist Albert Fert and Peter Grunberg of Germany won the prize for the discovery of giant magnetoresistance.

| Updated on: Oct 09 2007, 21:24 IST

French scientist Albert Fert and Peter Grunberg of Germany won the 2007 Nobel Prize in physics for the discovery of giant magnetoresistance, the Nobel committee announced on Tuesday.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in its citation that their contribution 'can also be considered one of the first real applications of the promising field of nanotechnology'.

Their discovery has made it possible to miniaturise hard disks and has enabled computer users to quickly and easily store reams of data on hard drives.

The Nobel Prizes have been awarded annually since 1901 to those who 'conferred the greatest benefit on mankind during the preceding year'.

Each prize consists of a medal, a personal diploma and a cash award of 10 million Swedish kronor ($1.53 million).

The Noble prizes in physics, chemistry, medicine and literature are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden, while the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, capital of Norway.

Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 09 Oct, 21:20 IST