Google Drive will delete files in ‘Trash’ automatically once its older than 30 days
This move will not just save more space in Google Drive but will also make the platform more in sync with others like Gmail, which also deletes your mail from the bin after 30 days.
Google will soon make it easier for you to clear your Drive space. That is by deleting the contents in the ‘Trash' section once they get older than 30 days. The deletion of the files will happen automatically. This would also mean that you will have exactly 30 days to recover the file, from the day you have deleted it. Until now, users would simply remove the file, which would then go in the ‘Trash' folder and stay there forever. They would have to open that folder in Drive and delete content manually. This indeed made ‘Trash' more of a folder to hide content instead of deleting it.
The firm says that this process will begin from October 13. This move will not just save more space in Google Drive but will also make the platform more in sync with others like Gmail, which also deletes your mail from the bin after 30 days.
“Any files already in a user's trash on October 13, 2020 will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day period, files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted,” says Google in the post.
It is wroth adding that admins will still have the option to recover the deleted file from the trasj for up to 25 days for active users. “You can only restore items that were removed from the shared drive's trash within the last 25 days unless you have additional Google Vault policies in place,” says the G Suite admin support page.
To make everyone aware of this new feature, Google will also add a banner notification in Google Drive along with Google Docs and Google Forms page.