Google Photos now has new controls for how you share albums
- The additions have been made to give the user more controls and make it easier and more secure to share personal moments with loved ones
The use of Google Photos to share memories has gone up by 50% in some regions of the world over the Covid-19 pandemic lockdown. Last year in December, Google had introduced direct sharing to make it easier to share one photo or video, if needed, from Google Photos by adding them onto an ongoing conversation in the app.
Today, Google has added this same feature to shared albums. From this week, when you share an album, the default option will be to share it with a specific person or people via their google account. This gives you more control over who gets added to the album.
The option to share albums via a Google Photos link still exists and you can embed this link in an email, text or blog to easily share photos with those who do not use Google Photos or have a Google account.
However, you have the option to turn link sharing on or off at any time and you can decide if you want to let other collaborators add photos to an album. You'll also be able to remove someone from the album, which will remove the photos and videos they added, Google explained in a blog today.
The additions have been made to give the user more controls and make it easier and more secure to share personal moments with friends and family.
Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.