Adobe allows users to share Photoshop, Illustrator projects with collaborators

    The American multinational computer software company Adobe has now made it easier for multiple users to work on the same file in Photoshop, Illustrator, or Fresco with the help of a new feature called 'invite to edit'.
    By ANI
    | Updated on Feb 10 2021, 05:55 PM IST
    If someone is already editing the file, the new user would be given the choice to either make a copy or wait until the current editor is finished.
    If someone is already editing the file, the new user would be given the choice to either make a copy or wait until the current editor is finished. (REUTERS)
    If someone is already editing the file, the new user would be given the choice to either make a copy or wait until the current editor is finished.
    If someone is already editing the file, the new user would be given the choice to either make a copy or wait until the current editor is finished. (REUTERS)

    The American multinational computer software company Adobe has now made it easier for multiple users to work on the same file in Photoshop, Illustrator, or Fresco with the help of a new feature called 'invite to edit'.

    The upcoming feature will let users type in a collaborator's email address to send them access to the file they are working on, reported The Verge.

    However, there is also a limitation attached to the feature. Collaborators will not be able to work on the file live alongside the users, but they will be able to open up work, make changes of their own, save it, and have those changes sync back to the machine.

    Don't miss: How to remove Adobe Flash from your computer now that it’s dead

    As per the publication, if someone is already editing the file, the new user would be given the choice to either make a copy or wait until the current editor is finished.

    The new feature will work with .PSD and .AI files saved to Adobe's cloud and at present is accessible within Adobe XD too. It will also support version history, so a user will be able to reverse course if a collaborator messes something up.

    Also read: Adobe Photoshop turns 30: New features, history and evolution of photo editing software

    Adobe had announced that this feature was in development in October 2020. The organisation has been consistently building more collaboration features into Creative Cloud, the service which is responsible for tying its suite of apps together, in the hopes of making the platform quick, and reliable enough that teams can count on it to move their documents around. Adobe recently updated a related feature that allows documents to be sent to others for review.

    Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

    First Published Date: 10 Feb, 05:55 PM IST
    NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
    keep up with tech