Gmail, Hotmail users ALERT! This FAKE mail can steal your Facebook details

    Gmail and Hotmail users have been warned about fake mail purportedly from Facebook that can steal your details.
    By: HT TECH
    | Updated on: Jul 02 2022, 20:01 IST
    Here is how this fake mail can harm Gmail and Hotmail users.
    Here is how this fake mail can harm Gmail and Hotmail users. (Flickr)
    Here is how this fake mail can harm Gmail and Hotmail users.
    Here is how this fake mail can harm Gmail and Hotmail users. (Flickr)

    Here is a warning for Gmail and Hotmail users! If you use Gmail or Hotmail then you need to watch out for a fake mail allegedly from the Facebook Support team. As per a report by express.co.uk, cybersecurity experts at Trustwave have highlighted the fraud email saying the Facebook user's account is at the risk of being deleted and asks the user to click on a link. The main agenda behind all this is to get the login credentials of the Facebook user.

    According to the report by Trustwave, one of the scam messages they spotted, is labeled 'new message from Facebook' and the email reads, "Your Page has been scheduled for deletion after violating our Community Standards. If we don't hear from you within 48 hours, the page in question will be automatically deleted. You can appeal this decision below by visiting your support inbox".

    The fraud email then has an Appeal Now button that Hotmail, Gmail, Outlook and other client users can click on. However, as you click on the link, it will direct you to a fake Facebook appeals page. There you will be able to chat regarding the issue. Over the chat you will be asked to provide your details like name, email address, mobile number, among others as part of the appeal process. You can even be asked to provide two-factor authentication details. However, you need to note that the messenger chat is fake and this scene has been created to make you believe that the mail is real.

    You are advised to not provide such details to anyone as it can not only lock you out of your Facebook account, but if they re-use passwords across multiple services it could lead to hackers getting the keys for a whole host of other services.

    However, after the scam was discovered by Trustwave, the fake Facebook pages associated with the con and the phishing website has been taken down. But you need to stay alert and not fall for any other such type of mail. Trustwave said "there is no reason to believe another threat actor might not use the same tactic in the future."

    Speaking about the threat, Trustwave said: "Chatbots serve a huge purpose in digital marketing and live support, so it is no wonder that cyber attackers are now abusing this feature. People are not inclined to be suspicious of its contents, especially if it comes from a seemingly genuine source. The fact that the spammers are leveraging the platform that they are mimicking makes this campaign a perfect social engineering technique."

    Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

    First Published Date: 02 Jul, 20:01 IST
    Tags:
    NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
    keep up with tech