Home / Tech / News / WhatsApp privacy policy: What happens to your account if you don’t accept it?

WhatsApp privacy policy: What happens to your account if you don’t accept it?

If you don’t accept the new privacy policy by May 15, WhatsApp is not going to delete your account. But you will no longer have full functionality of the app. 
If you don’t accept the new privacy policy by May 15, WhatsApp is not going to delete your account. But you will no longer have full functionality of the app.  (Pixabay)

WhatsApp’s new privacy policy comes into effect from May 15. The messaging app has explained in detail what is going to happen if you do not accept the new terms.

WhatsApp’s new privacy policy is going to come into effect on May 15. The Facebook-owned messaging platform was supposed to roll it out on January 8 but decided to push it back after receiving serious flack globally.

Come May 15, you will be asked to accept the new privacy policy. But what happens if you don’t do it? WhatsApp has explained in details what’s going to happen if you don’t accept it and has also given users options.

If you don’t accept the new privacy policy by May 15, WhatsApp is not going to delete your account. However, you will not be able to utilise the app fully as certain functionalities will be taken away if you do not accept the new policy. For a short time you will be able to receive calls and notifications on the app, but you will not be able to read or send messages.

Also Read: WhatsApp explains what will happen if users don’t accept its Terms of Service

WhatsApp has said that you can still accept the updates after May 15.

Also, you can export your chat history on your Android smartphones and iPhones and download a report of your account before May 15. If you are thinking of deleting your account on iPhone, Android or KaiOS, WhatsApp has pointed out that it is irreversible and all your message history will be erased, you will be removed from all WhatsApp groups and your WhatsApp backup will also be deleted. Given that the process is irreversible, WhatsApp is hoping you “reconsider”.

The messaging app is adding some new features that is going to help users understand the new policy and dispel the misinformation about it including an in-app banner and status updates.

Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews, also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.