WhatsApp tips and tricks: How to keep your account safe when your phone is lost or stolen | Tech News

WhatsApp tips and tricks: How to keep your account safe when your phone is lost or stolen

Here’s how you can take control of your WhatsApp account when your smartphone is lost or stolen.

By: HT CORRESPONDENT
| Updated on: Aug 20 2022, 12:20 IST
Lost your phone? Here’s how to keep your WhatsApp account safe.
Lost your phone? Here’s how to keep your WhatsApp account safe. (Getty Images/iStockphoto)

You may have noticed that WhatsApp lets you send and receive messages on Wi-Fi even if the SIM card has been removed. The feature can be quite useful if you are switching from one phone to another and haven't backed up your WhatsApp data.

But what happens when your phone has been stolen or lost? Here's how you can keep your WhatsApp account safe in such situation.

You may be interested in

MobilesTablets Laptops
7% OFF
Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max
  • Black Titanium
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
28% OFF
Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra 5G
  • Green
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
Google Pixel 8 Pro
  • Obsidian
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
Apple iPhone 15 Plus
  • Black
  • 6 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage

The very first thing you need to do is call your mobile service provider and get your SIM card locked. This will disable WhatsApp from verifying the account as it requires access to SMS/phone call to activate.

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

Use the new SIM card to activate WhatsApp on your new phone. Note that WhatsApp can be activated with only one number and device at one time. This will make sure your data is restored on your new device. ALSO READ: How to change, personalise WhatsApp chat background

If you have not received your new SIM card yet, you can email WhatsApp with "Lost/Stolen: Please deactivate my account" in the body. You will have to enter your full phone number (with country code). You can check out the full format here. The country code for India is 91.

When your account is deactivated, you will still receive messages from your contacts. These messages, however, will remain "pending" for up to 30 days. If you are unable to reactivate your account in 30 days, the account will be permanently deleted. ALSO READ: How to use built-in crypto wallet on Opera browser for Android 

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 16 Dec, 11:57 IST
Tags:
Trending:
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS

Best Deals For You