Instagram tips and tricks: Share story on Close Friends list; know how

    You can now create Close Friends list on Instagram and share story only with them. Here is a step-by-step guide to follow.
    By: HT TECH
    | Updated on: Aug 19 2022, 15:56 IST
    7 Instagram features that you must try- from knowing who is Online to sending silent messages
    Instagram
    1/7 Know who is online on Instagram: Once you open the app, at the top of your inbox, you can see who is free to chat at that moment, helping you find serendipitous opportunities to connect with friends. (Pixabay)
    Instagram
    2/7 Send silent messages: Send messages without notifying friends late at night or when they’re busy by adding “@silent” in your message. Now you can reach out without worrying about sending unwanted notifications. (REUTERS)
    image caption
    3/7 Reply while you browse: Receive a new message while you are browsing your feed? You can now reply without going to your inbox and losing your place. This new feature makes it that much easier and more convenient to chat while on the app. (Pixabay)
    image caption
    4/7 Quickly send to friends: You can reshare interesting content without interrupting your Instagram experience. By tapping and holding the share button, you can effortlessly reshare posts to your closest friends. (AP)
    Instagram
    5/7 Keep it on the lo-fi: Feeling chill? Try the new lo-fi chat theme to make your conversations feel more personal. (Reuters)
    image caption
    6/7 Create a poll with your squad: Deciding where to go to dinner or what time to meet up? Instagram is bringing one of Messenger’s most beloved group chat features on the app so you can create a poll directly in your group chat. (Unsplash)
    image caption
    7/7 Play, pause, and re-play: Enabled by integrations with Apple Music, Amazon Music, and Spotify coming soon, you can now share a 30-second preview of that song you just can’t get out of your head, and your friends can listen directly from your chat. (Pixabay)
    Instagram
    View all Images
    Here is how to create Close Friends list on Instagram and share stories with them. (AP)

    Everyone uses one or the other social networking app. May it be Instagram, WhatsApp, Facebook, Telegram, Snapchat, among others, you will find your relatives and friends accounts on these apps. Like other apps, Instagram too allows you to interact and send images, GIFs, stickers, audio, files, and more with your followers. It also lets you share stories, and enjoy other interesting features. But not everyone is comfortable sharing their images, videos, among others with all via Instagram stories.

    If you are one of them, you can create a Close Friends list and share your story with only the people on that list. It can also be known that with stories, you can share photos and videos that disappear from your profile, feed and messages after 24 hours, unless you add them to your profile as story highlights. It can be noted that people on your Close Friends list will know they are on it, but they can't see who else is on the list. Only you can see your close friends list, and no one can request to be added.

    If someone has added you to their list, you will see a green badge when you're viewing their stories and a green ring around their profile photo. So, here are the steps you need to follow to create your close friends list:

    How to create Close Friends list

    1. Tap profile or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.

    2. Tap in the top right, then tap Close Friends.

    3. Scroll down to Suggestions (Android) or Suggested (iPhone).

    4. Tap Add next to the people who you want to add to your Close Friends list. You can also tap Search to search for a friend.

    5. You can update your list and remove people at any time. It can be noted that people won't be notified when you add or remove them from your list.

    How to share a story with your close friends list

    Step 1:

    Tap at the top or swipe right anywhere in feed, then scroll to Story at the bottom.

    Step 2:

    Tap at the bottom of the screen to take a photo, or tap and hold to record a video. To choose a photo from your phone's library or gallery, swipe up anywhere on the screen.

    Step 3:

    When you are ready to share, tap Close Friends in the bottom left.

    Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

    First Published Date: 19 Aug, 15:56 IST
    NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
    keep up with tech