You just won't believe what Ctrl+H can do on your Google Chrome browser | How-to

You just won't believe what Ctrl+H can do on your Google Chrome browser

Here is how you can delete your Google Chrome search history completely. All you need to do is Ctrl+H.

By: HT TECH
| Updated on: Apr 27 2023, 16:52 IST
In Pics: Know 5 ways to stay safe online on Google Chrome
Google Chrome
1/5 Keep strong password: Using a password manager (even if it’s not Google’s) will help you store and use a strong, unique password for each site you log into. Google Password Manager can suggest and save a strong, unique password of gobbledygook (like KZamPPzj43T9mQM). Then, Chrome will autofill the password next time you need it — on any device. Chrome should suggest a new strong password when creating a new account, or you can always right click in the password field and click “Suggest Password.” (Pixabay)
Google Chrome
2/5 Keep updating Google Chrome: Like every other application, security engineers work to keep Chrome safe against the latest threats, by working on updates and improvements. And these updates and improvements come out at least every two weeks. Chrome checks for updates regularly, and when one is available, Chrome downloads it immediately and then applies it when you close and reopen the browser. But if you haven’t closed your browser in a while, you may have a pending update visible in the upper right corner of the browser window. To apply the update, click “Update” or simply close and reopen Chrome. (REUTERS)
Google Chrome
3/5 Keep note of Chrome's download warnings: Chrome warns its users about dangerous downloads when possible. When you see a download warning, you can still download the file, but it is recommended not to do so. Computers are often compromised by malware because people misunderstand or ignore warnings. (Pixabay)
Google Chrome
4/5 Use 2-step verification: Two-factor authentication can use your phone to add an extra step to verify that it's you when you sign in. Signing in with both a password and a second step on your phone protects against password-stealing scams. If you sign into Chrome with a Google Account, be sure that you’re enrolled in 2-step verification to protect your account. (Unsplash)
Google Chrome
5/5 Use the browser with Enhanced security protection: To be even more secure while browsing the web in Chrome, turn on Enhanced Safe Browsing protection in your Chrome settings. It substantially increases protection from dangerous websites and downloads by sharing real-time data with Safe Browsing. If you’re signed in, Chrome and other Google apps you use (Gmail, Drive, etc) will be able to provide improved protection based on a holistic view of threats you encounter on the web and attacks against your Google Account, according to the blog post. (Pixabay)
Google Chrome
icon View all Images
Know steps to delete your search history on Google Chrome. (Unsplash)

Almost everyone goes to their Google Chrome browser to search for the things we want to know. But there are some searches which you do not want other people to know about. So, what do you do with your Google Chrome history? In such a situation, most people tend to delete their search history. But, does it really remove your search data? Not exactly! There is a lot of data or details stored with Google on how you use the internet, even when you think you have erased or cleared your search history from the browser you use. If you have recently searched something you want to get rid of from your Chrome search history, here is a tip on how to get Google to erase it altogether without leaving a single piece of evidence. Yes, Google touts total privacy through this method!

Notably, clearing or deleting your Chrome browser history is easy. All you need to do is simply click on the three dots in the top right corner of Chrome browser (if you use Chrome for your searches) and click on history, or alternatively you can also press Control + H on the keyboard. But, what needs to be remembered is that unless you delete your search history from your Google account, the data will still be stored by Google somewhere.

When you search on Google with Web and App Activity turned on, Google saves activity like your Search history to your Google Account. This is done mainly to give the user more personalized experiences, like app and content recommendations. Google has been holding this data for all of its users worldwide since 2005.

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

In order to delete your Google Search History completely, here are the steps you need to follow. Before that it can be known that if you delete Search history that is saved to your Google Account, you cannot get it back. You can delete a specific activity, or delete your Search history from a specific day, a custom date range, or all time.

How to delete your Chrome search history completely

Step 1:

On your device, open up Chrome browser and click on your profile picture or initial available at the top right.

Step 2:

Once you click on your profile picture, search for My Activity in the search bar.

Step 3:

In order to delete searches from a specific time period, you will have to click on Delete and then custom range.

Step 4:

You can even customize your Settings to let your device auto delete the Search history. You will have to go to the Search history menu and then select Controls for the same.

Step 5:

Now, search for the Web & App Activity card and click on Auto-delete (On).

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 27 Apr, 16:52 IST
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS