Facebook privacy: Crack the whip, limit those who can contact you | How-to

Facebook privacy: Crack the whip, limit those who can contact you

Control who can contact you with these Facebook privacy settings.

By: HT TECH
| Updated on: Aug 22 2022, 12:22 IST
Facebook
If you don’t want someone to contact you on Facebook, then there are a number of privacy features you can use. (AFP)

How long is your Facebook contact list? Well, most of us have a huge number of contacts - from school time to current. These include the extended family, friends we haven't seen for so long to collegues. Our Facebook friend list usually has all the possible contacts that we know. Whatever the case, Facebook has a wide reach and it can be the best source of maintaining relationships and keeping up to date. Also Read: Instagram tips and tricks: Here's how to send silent messages

However, it can get overwhelming at times. So, what can you do? Well, you can limit those who can contact you on Facebook. This can be when you don't want to share something with specific contacts in your Facebook friend list or want to limit those who can contact or message you or simply don't want to hear anything from them. For such cases, Facebook brings plenty of tools and options. These are wonderful features simply because privacy is what matters in the digital space. From the Facebook Privacy Checkup page, you can control all the essential privacy options. If you can access your Facebook via the web, then this can be best done with ease while accessing all the relevant settings. Here's how to limit those who can contact you on Facebook. Also Read: This secret iPhone trick will help you measure ANYTHING with iPhone 13, iPhone 12, more

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

How to limit those who can contact you on Facebook

Step 1:

If people are not able to see what you're sharing, then they also won't be able to comment or react to it. You can simply limit those who can see what you share on your Facebook.

Step 2:

Open Facebook and move to the Facebook Privacy Checkup page under the Settings. 

Step 3:

Simply click on 'Who can see what you share'. You can customize the list of contacts who can see your shared stuff from selecting only a few contacts to everyone except a few. 

Step 4:

Besides that, you can find Limit Past posts which can help you lock down any older posts which were shared with an audience. 

Step 5:

Also, anyone who is on your friend list can contact you or message you. So if you don't want to hear from someone then you can simply block or unfriend them. 

Step 6:

To stop getting messages from someone who is not on your friend list, tap on your profile picture, then tap on Privacy and Message delivery and choose friends of friends and non-friends on Facebook who can send you message requests.

Step 7:

That should restore your Facebook privacy to its best level.

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 23 May, 14:14 IST
Tags:
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS