Home / How-to / Facebook leak: How to download your data and delete the account
how-to

Facebook leak: How to download your data and delete the account

It surely sparks a thought in existing customers of whether they should completely abandon the social media site or not.

Facebook App.
Facebook App. (Unsplash)

Looks like Facebook is in trouble again. A leaker has claimed that they are offering information on more than 500 million Facebook Inc users totally free of cost, on the web. This data includes phone numbers of these users and other data. While this might be correct or not, it surely sparks a thought in existing customers of whether they should completely abandon the social media site or not, considering it has access to all of their data and has been in headlines in the past for all the wrong reasons too. So, in case you are thinking of making such a move, here’s how you can download your Facebook data and delete your account forever.

Downloading copy of your Facebook data:

Step 1: On desktop, click on the downward facing arrow on the top right corner.

Step 2: From the list, choose Settings & privacy, then click Settings.

Step 3: In the left column, click Your Facebook information.

Step 4: Next to Download your information, click View.

Step 5: To add or remove categories of data from your request, click the boxes on the right-hand side of Facebook.

Step 6: You can select other options as well including the format of your download request, the quality of photos, videos and other media and a specific date range of information. If you don't select a date range, you'll request all the information for the categories you've selected.

Step 7: Click Create file to confirm the download request.

Now, you have to wait for the file to get created. It might take hours and even days for this. However, once it is prepared, Facebook will send you a notification. All you need to do then is to go to the ‘Available copies’ section of the ‘Download your information’ tool and click ‘Download’ and enter your password.

Also read: Facebook launches new profile frames, sticker to encourage Covid-19 vaccination

For permanently deleting your Facebook account:

- Follow the first three steps as mentioned above.

Step 4: Click Deactivation and deletion.

Step 5: Choose Permanently Delete Account, then click Continue to account deletion.

Step 6: Click Delete Account, enter your password and then click Continue.

It is, however, still possible to cancel your account deletion within 30 days.

Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews, also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.