WhatsApp new feature added; here is what 'View Once' lets users do
WhatsApp new feature: Previously known as expiring messages, the new View Once feature allows users to send photos to chats and group chats that can be seen once, before they disappear from the conversation forever. Here’s everything you need to know about WhatsApp new feature.
WhatsApp New Feature: This Facebook-owned messaging service boasts over two billion users on the encrypted platform. The company is constantly adding new features to its service to make it more user friendly or to make it more privacy-friendly. A new WhatsApp feature that has been in the works for some time has now been added to the latest beta version of the app, allowing users to send content in a more privacy-friendly mode called View Once.
The View Once feature for sharing media allows users to quickly share images with their friends, which they can view once. After viewing the image, the photo disappears completely from the chat and cannot be opened again. The feature was initially spotted by feature leaker WABetaInfo, and is now rolling out to users on the latest beta version of WhatsApp for Android. Once the feature is enabled, users can even send View Once images to users that are not on the beta version and have not yet received the feature.
Read more: WhatsApp multi device, disappearing mode and view once coming soon, Zuckerberg confirms
The report states that users on version 18.104.22.168 of WhatsApp beta for Android now have the ability to send images in View Once mode, a feature that was confirmed to the leaker by WhatsApp head Will Cathcart and Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg during a recent interaction. The feature was previously referred to as expiring media messages. It is worth noting that Signal, widely considered the world's most secure messaging app has had this feature since January 2020.
While this feature is incredibly useful for people who want to send images that are only intended to be viewed once, it is important to note that the image will remain on the screen as long as it is not closed. During this time, the recipient can take a screenshot of the image, and WhatsApp will not notify the user, because unlike apps like Snapchat, there is no method used to detect screenshots implemented inside the app. Similarly, users can also record the image using another camera while the image is open.
For users who have disabled read receipts, the report states that if a user has disabled read receipts for messages, they will not be able to see when a View Once photo has been opened. However, recipients might be able to see when that user has opened a View Once photo sent by them. Blocked users in common groups will also be able to see these images. Similarly, just like read receipts continue to work in groups, WhatsApp will show when all participants have opened a photo set to view once, even if some of them have disabled read receipts.
Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.