Your Twitter account will be BLOCKED if you do this; crackdown has started

Twitter account blocked feature: A crackdown has started and users must be very careful. They must not do these things listed below.

By: HT TECH
| Updated on: Aug 21 2022, 20:01 IST
Twitter account blocked feature: Twitter abusers must beware now! This new mode will block their accounts.
Twitter account blocked feature: Twitter abusers must beware now! This new mode will block their accounts. (Twitter)
Twitter account blocked feature: Twitter abusers must beware now! This new mode will block their accounts.
Twitter account blocked feature: Twitter abusers must beware now! This new mode will block their accounts. (Twitter)

Twitter account blocked feature: Twitter is making its platform safer to use, one feature at a time. In the past, the microblogging platform has introduced features that would enable users to pick and choose who would be able to respond to their tweets. It has also introduced settings to help users filter out and even block unwanted people, tweets and topics on the platform. Today, Twitter took another step in making its platform even safer. Enter: Safety Mode. It is a Twitter account blocked feature that also puts the decision-making key in users' hands.

The Twitter Safety Mode is a feature that temporarily blocks accounts for seven days for using potentially harmful language, which includes insults or hateful remarks or sending repetitive and uninvited replies or mentions. When this Twitter feature is turned on in settings, its systems will assess the likelihood of a negative engagement by considering both the Tweet's content and the relationship between the Tweet author and replier. “Our technology takes existing relationships into account, so accounts you follow or frequently interact with will not be auto blocked,” Twitter wrote in a blog post.

Also read: Looking for a smartphone? Check Mobile Finder here.

Furthermore, Twitter said that ‘authors of Tweets found by its technology to be harmful or uninvited will be auto-blocked.' This means that the blocked users will temporarily be unable to follow the user's Twitter account, see their Tweets, or send them Direct Messages. The company also said that before each Safety Mode period ends, users will receive a notification recapping this information.

“We won't always get this right and may make mistakes, so Safety Mode autoblocks can be seen and undone at any time in your Settings. We'll also regularly monitor the accuracy of our Safety Mode systems to make improvements to our detection capabilities,” Twitter noted in its blog post.

Twitter Safety Mode feature has started to roll out to a small feedback group of users on iOS, Android, and Twitter.com and it can be accessed by using this thread: Settings and Privacy > Privacy and Safety > Safety Mode. The company also said that in the beginning, its Safety Mode feature will be available to only the accounts that have English-language settings enabled.

So, if you don't want your Twitter account blocked, you will need to be very careful about how you engage with others on this platform.

Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 02 Sep, 18:10 IST
Tags:
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
keep up with tech