Facebook's new tool lets you keep your old, embarrassing posts to yourself
The new Facebook feature lets you archive old posts that you don't want people to see on your timeline.
Everyone probably has Facebook memories they do not want others to see. Status updates, photos and videos that were published some ten years ago can be pretty embarrassing if anyone were to read them now. Facebook is now making it easier to bulk delete those posts but still keep them for your eyes only.
Facebook's new feature called “Manage Activity” lets you delete all your past posts with the help of filters to better categorise them. What it essentially does is that these deleted posts will be archived so only you will be able to see them. If someone tries to stalk you and scan through your timeline for dated posts, they won't find those.
This feature can be found under the “Activity Log” section on your Facebook profile. Whenever it arrives you'll see the Manage Activity option along with other additions like filters, archive and trash. You can choose the category of posts like photos or videos and select the month and year. Then select the posts you want removed from your timeline.
You can choose to either archive them or move them to trash. Posts which are moved to trash will be deleted permanently after 30 days.
Facebook is rolling out Manage Activity on its mobile apps first. It will later roll out to the desktop app and on Facebook Lite as well. This feature isn't available in India as yet but it should arrive soon.