Apple iPhone FaceTime privacy bug: How to disable video-calling feature

    Apple’s iPhone FaceTime privacy bug lets you hear others even before they pick up call. Here’s how to disable FaceTime on your iPhone and Mac devices.
    By KUL BHUSHAN
    | Updated on Jan 29 2019, 05:30 PM IST
    Apple has already disabled group FaceTime feature for iPhone from server side. But you can also turn off the video-calling feature altogether.
    Apple has already disabled group FaceTime feature for iPhone from server side. But you can also turn off the video-calling feature altogether. (Bloomberg)
    Apple has already disabled group FaceTime feature for iPhone from server side. But you can also turn off the video-calling feature altogether.
    Apple has already disabled group FaceTime feature for iPhone from server side. But you can also turn off the video-calling feature altogether. (Bloomberg)

    iPhone users are no longer able to make group video calls from FaceTime after a major privacy bug was discovered in the default app. The privacy bug allowed callers to hear and even view the recipient even though latter hasn't received the call. Apple has promised to fix the bug through a software update later this week.

    Also read: Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

    According to 9to5, the UI on FaceTime makes it look like other person has already joined the call but it's actually just ringing on their iPhone. It also pointed out that if a third person in a group call taps on Power button on their lock screen, others can still their video.

    Until the software fix is rolled out, Apple has disabled group FaceTime video calling feature from the server side. "We're aware of this issue and have identified a fix that will be released in a software update later this week," said a company spokesperson.

    As Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey suggests, users can also disable the FaceTime feature altogether from their iPhones to stay safe.

    How to disable group FaceTime on your iPhone

    Open Settings on your iPhone.

    Scroll down > tap on the FaceTime icon.

    Tap on the toggle to mute the feature.

    Here's how you can turn off FaceTime on your iPhone
    Here's how you can turn off FaceTime on your iPhone (HT Photo/Screenshot)
    Here's how you can turn off FaceTime on your iPhone
    Here's how you can turn off FaceTime on your iPhone (HT Photo/Screenshot)

    On your Mac

    Launch the FaceTime application on your Mac device.

    Click on "FaceTime" from the Menu.

    Click on "Turn off FaceTime" and exit.

    Note that you can also delete the application from your phone. Simply long press on the mobile app icon and then tap on the cross icon and confirm deletion. Even if you have deleted the FaceTime app, you can still make and receive FaceTime calls via Contacts and Phone apps.

     

    Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

    First Published Date: 29 Jan, 05:14 PM IST
    NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS
    keep up with tech