Fix this WhatsApp fear! Here is what your phone will get; check leak
WhatsApp is reportedly working on a feature that will allow users on the app to better control their privacy by deciding exactly who can see their profile photo on the app. The feature is part of additional privacy controls coming to the app that were recently spotted in the app by a leaker and could come to users in a future update. This is an important feature as users have been impacted negatively over their profile photos and unnecessary fear and discomfort has been created for some users. It also provided an opportunity to many to misuse this feature. In effect, users will be able to hide their WhatsApp profile photo from certain people they don't like.
We had previously reported that WhatsApp was working on adding a new feature called “My contacts except…” under the privacy settings for Last Seen on the app. This control was also revealed to be arriving for the About section of a user's profile, along with their profile photo. This means that users who wanted to show their profile photo to their contacts on the app but hide it from a select few, will no longer have to ‘remove' these contacts, or set their profile photo privacy to ‘Nobody'.
Also read: Looking for a smartphone? Check Mobile Finder here.
The WhatsApp feature was previously spotted by feature leaker WABetaInfo, who discovered the setting on the feature on a beta version of the app for iOS. The leaker has now revealed that the feature has now appeared in testing on WhatsApp beta for Android. Users will be able to see a fourth option in the future called “My contacts except…” in addition to Everyone, My Contacts, and Nobody.
When the feature eventually rolls out, users will be able to hide their profile photo, last seen and About from certain users, while showing it to the rest of their contacts. However, they must keep in mind that hiding any of the above profile sections from a specific contact means that they will not be able to see the other person's profile information as well. That means hiding your last seen from a particular person means you will not be able to see their last seen, until you remove them from the “except” list in your WhatsApp settings.