Here’s how you can delete WhatsApp messages for everyone even after 7 minutes | HT Tech

Here’s how you can delete WhatsApp messages for everyone even after 7 minutes

A simple trick to delete WhatsApp message for everyone even after seven minutes time limit.

By: KUL BHUSHAN
| Updated on: Jan 15 2018, 12:29 IST
Bypass WhatsApp’s 7-minute time limit to delete messages for everyone
Bypass WhatsApp’s 7-minute time limit to delete messages for everyone (REUTERS)

WhatsApp in October last year rolled out the much sought after feature, 'Delete for everyone'.

Similar to the concept of self-destructing messages already available on iMessage and other instant messaging applications, 'delete for everyone' lets you recall a message sent to a group or a contact. The catch is the feature is available up to seven minutes after sending.

You may be interested in

MobilesTablets Laptops
7% OFF
Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max
  • Black Titanium
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
23% OFF
Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra 5G
  • Green
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
Google Pixel 8 Pro
  • Obsidian
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
Apple iPhone 15 Plus
  • Black
  • 6 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage

While the seven minute limit is good enough time for you to rethink about your message, but sometimes you may exceed the time-limit. Fortunately, there's a workaround that lets you delete WhatsApp messages for everyone, even after seven minutes.

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

And more importantly, the workaround, found by Androidjefe, is quite easy and you don't need to install any third-party application or go through a complex process. So, here's how to do it.

Step 1
If you have sent a message to a group or a contact, and exceeded the seven minute time-frame, first thing you need to do is disable mobile internet and Wi-Fi on your phone.

Step 2
Now, go to Settings > choose Apps > WhatsApp.

Step 3
Tap on 'Fore Stop'. Most probably, your phone will give a warning message that doing so will cause the app to misbehave. Ignore that warning. Clear the WhatsApp from the background as well.

Step 4
Here comes the tricky part. Go to Date and Time under Settings. Disable the auto-time and auto-time zone (tap on the toggle buttons). Now, manually enter the time of the WhatsApp message you sent to a group. Check the time mention below the WhatsApp message.

Step 5
Now, go to the WhatsApp, delete the message you sent. The app will still show you the option to "delete for everyone." Select the option and you're almost done.

Step 6
Reconnect to the internet. You'll notice the message has been deleted.

.

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 14 Jan, 17:45 IST
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS