Relief! WhatsApp privacy gets a boost! Hide online status feature to roll out soon | Tech News

Relief! WhatsApp privacy gets a boost! Hide online status feature to roll out soon

WhatsApp will roll out the new privacy features that allow users to hide online status soon. The new feature is currently available for beta testers.

By: HT TECH
| Updated on: Sep 13 2022, 16:38 IST
WhatsApp
WhatsApp users will soon be able to hide their online active status. (Pixabay)
WhatsApp
WhatsApp users will soon be able to hide their online active status. (Pixabay)

Meta-owned instant messaging app WhatsApp is all set to introduce a new privacy feature that will let you choose who can see your online active status. WhatsApp will also restrict others from viewing users' online active status. The new hide online status feature will be rolled out soon. Currently, it is available for Android beta users, reported WhatsApp development tracker WabetaInfo.

As per the report, WhatsApp users can easily check whether they can access this new feature or not by going to WhatsApp Settings > Account > Privacy and then “Last seen and online.” If the “Last seen and online” option is there, that means you can use it and restrict unwanted WhatsApp contacts from viewing your online active status. Once done, your online presence will only be shared with people that can already see your last seen. Just like the WhatsApp status, you will have three options to choose from - first is everyone, the second one is My Contacts and the third is ”Nobody.”

Mark Zuckerberg had announced three new features for WhatsApp last month via a Facebook post. The features include- exit group silently, screenshot blocking, and a privacy setting “who can see when you're online” on the app. While the hide online active status is likely to be rolled out soon other two privacy features will also be released soon.

Another important feature that the messaging app will roll out soon is restricting users from taking screenshots of auto-deleted View once media. The app had previously warned users to "only send photos or videos with 'View Once' feature enabled to trusted individuals” since the receivers could take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappeared. However, with the new update, no one will be able to take screen grab or screen record the view once media.

Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 13 Sep, 16:38 IST
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS