Want to see other people’s WhatsApp status without letting them know? Here’s how
People’s WhatsApp status are like Instagram/Facebook stories. If people check your WhatsApp Status you will get to know when you check the list. But there is a way to check others’ status without letting them know.
WhatsApp status' work just like Facebook and Instagram stories. They stay for 24 hours and you can add multiple status updates just like it is with stories on the other two Facebook-owned platforms.
But like on Instagram you can make a group of close friends and share stories that just they can see, incase you want to keep some content away from those who follow you there, WhatsApp does not have that option. All contact on WhatsApp can see your status if you post one.
Also Read: WhatsApp OTP scam: What is it and how to stay safe
There are instances where you might want to check someone's status and not let them know - just as it might happen on Facebook or Instagram. And there is a simple way to do it.
And it involves the ‘Read' receipt.
All you need to do to keep your profile from popping up on someone's status checked-list os by turning off the Read receipt.
Go to Settings, click on ‘Privacy' and turn off the Read receipts.
Now if you check someone's status, he/she will not be able to see your name on the list of people. Easy.
Like it is with turning off Read receipts that removes the double blue tick from your messages, it also disappears for all your chats and you don't get to know if others have read your messages or now - the same also happens for the WhatsApp status.
If you turn Read receipts off, you will also not be able to see who all have checked your status.
Also Read: WhatsApp to replace archived chats with ‘read later', here's how it will change
So you need to decide what's important to you and then take the plunge. Of course it's as easy to undo it as it is to do it. You can always go back into your settings and turn on Read receipts for things to return to normal.
A real sneaky ebay to do things would be to toggle the Read receipts off every time you want to see someone's status and not let them know and then turn it on after 24 hours. But this whole process seems like way too much work for far too little. People have been known to go to fascinating lengths though.
Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.