WhatsApp disappearing photos and videos feature, 'View Once', has a big flaw | Tech News

WhatsApp disappearing photos and videos feature, 'View Once', has a big flaw

WhatsApp disappearing photos and videos is a very useful feature, but it is marred by a big flaw that can create problems for users.

By: HT TECH
| Updated on: Aug 21 2022, 19:15 IST
The flaw in WhatsApp View Once feature is that nothing stops a recipient from taking a screenshot of the same and saving it on the device.
The flaw in WhatsApp View Once feature is that nothing stops a recipient from taking a screenshot of the same and saving it on the device. (WhatsApp)

WhatsApp has introduced a new feature that allows users to send self-destructing photos and videos within the app. This has been one of the features that Snapchat has been offering from the beginning, and now finally, WhatsApp has followed suit. This WhatsApp feature is called “View Once” and it will let users send photos and videos that, as the name suggests, can only be viewed once. In effect, after it has been opened by the recipient(s), it will automatically self-destruct. It will be gone from everywhere and cannot be forwarded, saved, or shared, WhatsApp has confirmed. Any media sent via the disappearing photos and videos feature will not be allowed to be saved by the recipient, it added. Another thing to keep in mind is that, if any media sent through the ‘View Once' feature is not opened in a period of 14 days, it will automatically be deleted.

Facebook on WhatsApp View Once feature: In its statement, Facebook said: "While taking photos or videos on our phones has become such a big part of our lives, not everything we share needs to become a permanent digital record. On many phones, simply taking a photo means it will take up space in your camera roll forever. That's why today we're rolling out new View Once photos and videos that disappear from the chat after they've been opened, giving users even more control over their privacy."

You may be interested in

MobilesTablets Laptops
7% OFF
Apple iPhone 15 Pro Max
  • Black Titanium
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
23% OFF
Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra 5G
  • Green
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 256 GB Storage
Google Pixel 8 Pro
  • Obsidian
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
Apple iPhone 15 Plus
  • Black
  • 6 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage

Big flaw in WhatsApp View Once feature: However, there is a catch. Caution must be exercised while using the View Once feature as nothing stops recipients from taking a screenshot and saving that on their devices. So, WhatsApp users should send this type of media only to trusted contacts. Why WhatsApp has not enabled a warning to be sent to the sender that the recipient has taken a screenshot is a mystery. Snapchat informs senders about a screenshot and WhatsApp could have done the same.

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

How to use WhatsApp View Once feature: To use this feature, your WhatsApp account needs to be updated to the latest version. To send media through the View Once feature, you simply have to open any chat, individual or group, and add a photo or video – either via the camera icon or the paperclip symbol on iOS and Android respectively. Before you press send, click on the View Once icon located to the right of the text bar. It is represented by the number one symbol with a circle around in green colour.

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 06 Aug, 07:37 IST
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS