When is WhatsApp Disappearing Mode coming? Here is everything we know so far
Once you turn on the Disappearing Mode settings in WhatsApp, all the conversations within the app will turn into ephemeral conversations.
WhatsApp Disappearing Mode: WhatsApp is one of the most popular social messaging platforms in the world. It is working on a number of features that are aimed at improving the overall experience of all the users on its platform. In the past, reports have detailed that WhatsApp is working on a new iteration of its multi-device functionality feature that would enable Android tablet and Apple iPad users to use the feature on their devices without needing a primary device such as a smartphone. Apart from this, reports in the past have also detailed that the Facebook-owned messaging app is working on a feature called Disappearing Mode.
Reports in the past have explained that WhatsApp's Disappearing Mode feature will ensure that the entire conversation once this feature is enabled will disappear up until it is manually disabled. Now, WABetaInfo reports that WhatsApp's Disappearing Mode feature will be available in the Privacy Settings of the messaging app. As per the screenshot shared by the blog site, the new Disappearing Mode setting will appear under the Read Receipts toggle button in WhatsApp's Privacy Settings.
Also read: Looking for a smartphone? Check Mobile Finder here.
Once you turn on the Disappearing Mode settings in WhatsApp, all the conversations within the app will turn into ephemeral conversations. The blog site also said that after enabling Disappearing Mode, people with whom you start new chats with, will be notified about the change. That said, WhatsApp is still working on developing this feature for its Android, iOS and Web/Desktop-based apps. So, it will take the company quite some time to introduce this feature in its main app. However, it is expected that the upcoming Disappearing Mode feature will be available to beta testers soon. In any case, we will keep you updated about the change.
Separately, the company is also working on introducing a new feature that will enable users to request WhatsApp to review a ban if they have been wrongfully banned. Users who have been banned by the company will get a button called ‘Request a Review'. Once users click on this option, users will be directed to another page wherein will be able to add details that will help the company review the entire situation better. If WhatsApp finds out that the user has been wrongfully banned, the company will revoke the ban. Else, users will have to make a fresh account using a new number.
Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews , also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.