tech

Facebook makes image, video transfer easier with Dropbox and Koofr integration

Interested customers can access the data transfer tool in Facebook settings within Your Facebook Information. From there, they can select Dropbox or Koofr, in addition to Google Photos.

Facebook
Facebook

Earlier this year Facebook made it easier to export all your images and videos you have ever uploaded on your account, to Google Photos within a few clocks. However, not everyone here uses Google Photos that often. So, the social media firm has now partnered with Dropbox and Koofr as well. Now, while exporting images from Facebook, you will also see the options of Dropbox and Koofr.

“Starting today, you can transfer your Facebook photos and videos directly to two additional services — Dropbox and Koofr — using our newest data portability tool,” confirmed Steve Satterfield, Director of Privacy and Public Policy at Facebook. “Dropbox provides one organized place for your content and all the collaboration around it. Koofr, which is based on the root for “suitcase” in some European languages, provides safe and private online storage for all your files, all in one place,” he said.

Also read: Facebook Messenger now limits forwarding messages to only five people at once

Interested customers can access the data transfer tool in Facebook settings within Your Facebook Information. From there, they can select Dropbox or Koofr, in addition to Google Photos. Users will also be asked to feed their passwords before the transfer starts. All data is said to be encrypted.

As mentioned by Dropbox, all the videos and images will be saved in a folder and the entire transfer process will take place in the background.

“Your files will transfer to Dropbox in the background—no need to keep your computer on or stare at a status bar. You’ll receive a notification when the transfer’s finished, at which point you’ll see the files in a new “Photo Transfer” folder. Everything will be grouped by album, ready for you to organize whatever way works best for you,” says Dropbox.