Google Messages testing auto-deletion of OTPs after 24 hours
This feature is currently being tested in the Google Messages beta app.
Google Messages is rolling out a new feature that will automatically delete One Time Password (OTP) messages after 24 hours. The new feature is first rolling out on the Google Messages beta app. It should be available to all users soon.
Google Messages beta users on the version 7.5.048 should be able to see this feature but it isn't available to all testers yet, XDA Developers reported. This was first spotted in September last year. This is part of a bigger feature that allows users to sort messages by categories including personal, transactions, offers and OTPs. There's an option to turn on “view messages by category” which will display messages accordingly. Just below that is the option to auto-delete OTPs after 24 hours. Once it's turned on, all current and future OTPs will be permanently deleted after 24 hours.
OTPs are sent via SMS and are mostly used for financial transactions. It is also used as part of the two-factor authentication for different apps. OTPs in their nature expire after a certain period of time so this auto-deletion feature can help reduce the clutter in your inbox. The new categories for messages will also be quite helpful considering how our messages inbox is mostly spammed with promotions and offers.
Google is currently testing this in beta, and is expected to roll out for all users soon. It recently made “schedule send” in the Messages app available to more Android users globally. Phones running Android 7 and higher can now schedule texts in the Messages app.