Google’s latest feature: See when someone is out of office in Gmail, Hangouts | Tech News

Google’s latest feature: See when someone is out of office in Gmail, Hangouts

Google’s latest feature is currently available to only G Suite users. It will be rolled out globally from September 16.

By: INDO ASIAN NEWS SERVICE
| Updated on: Aug 20 2022, 16:40 IST
Google to alert your contacts if you’re on vacation
Google to alert your contacts if you’re on vacation (Google)

Google is rolling out a new feature this month for its G Suite users where it will show a notification to your contacts in Gmail and Hangouts chats that you are away on vacation.

Available for only G Suite (Google's enterprise customers) at the moment and not the ordinary Gmail users, the feature will be fully rolled out globally from September 16, Google said in a statement.

You may be interested in

MobilesTablets Laptops
37% OFF
Google Pixel 2 128GB
  • Kinda Blue
  • 4 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
38% OFF
Google Pixel 7 Pro 5G
  • Obsidian
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
7% OFF
Google Pixel 7 5G
  • Obsidian
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
11% OFF
Google Pixel 7A
  • Charcoal
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage

"When you have an Out of office (OOO) entry on your calendar, a notice of that OOO status will appear in Gmail and Hangouts Chat when people try to contact you," said the company.

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

"In Gmail, we'll show a banner about the recipient being out of office and when they'll be back in the email compose window," Google added.

ALSO READ: 5 new things you can do with right click on Gmail for web

In Hangouts Chat, you'll also see a small notification in the chat compose window alerting you that the person you're trying to message is out of office.

These notices will automatically start showing up when anyone whose calendar you have access to has an out of office event scheduled.

If you'd like to disable sharing of availability information to other G Suite apps, you can do so in Calendar under Calendar settings -- Access permissions. Just deselect "Show calendar info in other Google apps, limited by access permissions." This feature will be on by default and can be disabled in the Calendar settings if you do not require this.

ALSO READ: Google Calendar has a spam problem: Here's how you can block pesky notifications

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 02 Sep, 17:36 IST
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS