Google to auto-delete Search, YouTube, and location history | Tech News

Google to auto-delete Search, YouTube, and location history

Google’s new features are part of its ongoing efforts to give users more control on the data they want to be shared with the company. 

By: HT TECH
| Updated on: Aug 20 2022, 21:44 IST
Google rolls out new privacy tools
Google rolls out new privacy tools (Pixabay)

Google has introduced a bunch of new privacy tools for its users. The pick of new tools is the auto-delete for location history. When a user switches of location history for the first time, Google will set auto-delete to 18 months by default.

The company has also rolled out the same 18 months auto-delete for web and app activity. Users, however, have the option to disable the settings or modify the auto-delete option.

You may be interested in

MobilesTablets Laptops
25% OFF
Google Pixel 128GB
  • Black
  • 4 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
37% OFF
Google Pixel 7 Pro 5G
  • Obsidian
  • 12 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
7% OFF
Google Pixel 7A
  • Charcoal
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage
7% OFF
Google Pixel 7 5G
  • Obsidian
  • 8 GB RAM
  • 128 GB Storage

For old users who have location history and web & app activity already enabled, Google will not change the settings but says it will keep reminding them about the new auto-delete controls.

Also read
Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

Apart from Google, the company has extended the auto-delete functionality to YouTube. The video platform now has 36 months by default for auto-delete for new users or someone switches on history for the first time. Existing users will have the option between 3 or 18 months of auto-delete option.

“As always, we don't sell your information to anyone, and we don't use information in apps where you primarily store personal content—such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar and Photos—for advertising purposes, period,” wrote Google CEO Sundar Pichai in a blog post.

More new features

Google is now making it easier for users to search for important privacy features such as “Google Privacy Checkup” and “Is my Google Account secure?”.

Going incognito has also become easier. Google will now allow users to go incognito on popular Google apps by just long-pressing on your profile picture. The feature is available on apps like Search, Maps, and YouTube.

Google is also adding new recommendations in the Privacy Checkup dashboard to help users gain better control of their privacy online.

Catch all the Latest Tech News, Mobile News, Laptop News, Gaming news, Wearables News , How To News, also keep up with us on Whatsapp channel,Twitter, Facebook, Google News, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

First Published Date: 25 Jun, 08:44 IST
NEXT ARTICLE BEGINS