Home / Tech / News / Gmail’s new feature to help you avoid unintentionally sharing confidential information

Gmail’s new feature to help you avoid unintentionally sharing confidential information

Secondary and alias domains are exempted from being labeled as “External”.
Secondary and alias domains are exempted from being labeled as “External”. (Gmail)

The “External” label will be available on Gmail on the web and Android devices. It will come to iOS as well. 

Gmail is now making it easier for Workspace users to spot email threads that have people outside their organisations.

Gmail for Workspace, G Suite Basic and Business customers) users will now see an “External” label to email threads that include recipients outside their organisation. The label will appear on the web browser as well as on Android. The feature will soon roll out for iOS users. Google says the latest label is in addition to the external recipient warning banner.

“The “External” label and the reply warning banner and label are helpful reminders for users to treat external messages with caution. This can help avoid unintentionally sharing confidential information with recipients outside of their organisation,” says Google in a blog post.

Google added that Admins would have the ability to turn on or off this external label. The feature will be available by default for end users. The feature is currently being rolled out gradually and may take another 15 days to appear for everyone.

Gmail is now making it easier for Workspace users to spot email threads that may have people outside their organisations.

Gmail for Workspace, G Suite Basic and Business customers) users will now see an “External” label to email threads that include recipients outside their organisation. The label will appear on the web browser as well as on Android. The feature will soon roll out for iOS users. Google says the latest label is in addition to the external recipient warning banner.

“The “External” label and the reply warning banner and label are helpful reminders for users to treat external messages with caution. This can help avoid unintentionally sharing confidential information with recipients outside of their organisation,” says Google in a blog post.

Google added that Admins would have the ability to turn on or off this external label. The feature will be available by default for end users. The feature is currently being rolled out gradually and may take another 15 days to appear for everyone.|#+|

The latest feature comes after Google added support for editing details in line with Google Tasks on the web. Gmail users can now add additional information to their personal tasks without opening the “details” dialogue box. The change is likely to help users better manage their tasks on the platform. The feature is available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as G Suite Basic and Business customers.

For end-users, Gmail recently added new animations for swipe actions on its Android app. It appears to be a minor update, but it does give a refreshing visual experience on Gmail. It’s not available on the Gmail app for iOS so far.

Follow HT Tech for the latest tech news and reviews, also keep up with us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. For our latest videos, subscribe to our YouTube channel.